Trendway Announces 2018 Scholarship Recipients

Holland, MI .  .  .  Trendway Corporation is pleased to announce 2018 recipients for their annual scholarship award programs. The company offers three separate programs to area students.

The two annual George and Lucile Heeringa Scholarship programs were created in honor of Trendway’s early proprietors. “My parents always placed a strong emphasis on education” says Don Heeringa, Trendway Chairman. “Through these scholarships, we are able to honor their memory and the values they held dear, as well as encourage and support young men and women as they advance their knowledge.” The George and Lucile Heeringa Trendway Scholarship is open to children of Trendway’s full-time employees They are awarded in the amount of $3,000 or $1,000. Students who received the award the previous year are eligible to apply for a $500 Continuing Scholarship. The George and Lucile Heeringa Community Scholarship offer seven awards of $1,000 each to area high school students in their Senior year, as well as one current Kendall College student.

The Bill Bundy Leadership Scholarship was created in honor of the retired Trendway President and CEO. It is awarded to an enrolled college student who demonstrates outstanding leadership skills.

2018 Scholarship recipients are listed below.

$3,000 George and Lucile Heeringa Trendway Scholarship:

Jessica Sheffield
Marissa Sterken

$1,000 George and Lucile Heeringa Trendway Scholarship:

Rachel Hish
Amanda Hish
Madison VanOveren
Spencer Shrontz
Austin Dykstra
Brandie South
Quinton Smith

$500 George and Lucile Heeringa Trendway Continuing Scholarship:

Alysa Kasen
Amanda Waack
Carolyn Mathis
Emily Dabandons
Haley Wallis
Jared Ratsavong
Jarod Riemersma
Jenna Jalving
Kayla Sheffield
Kelly Dabandons
Pierce Marshall
Sydney Fritz
Joshua Troemel
Marley Duerst
Jacob Duerst
Taylor Hodge
Alyssa Wiley
Shelby Kasen

George and Lucile Heeringa Community Scholarship:

Katelyn Boverhof, Kendall College
Rebekah Schrader, Grand Haven
Yuxi (Leo) Wen, Holland Christian
Jaylen VanMaurick, West Ottawa
Drew Pedersen, West Ottawa
Olivia Creevy, Zeeland West
Tate VanEck, Zeeland East
Ashton Maloney, Holland

Bill Bundy Leadership Scholarship:

Alysa Kasen

A Scholarship Award luncheon was held for recipients and their parents at the Trendway facility on Quincy Street in Holland.